PM Awas Yojana-Gramin

The Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana Gramin (PMAY-G) is a government initiative aimed at providing affordable housing to the rural poor, ensuring that families living in kutcha houses or without shelter can move into permanent homes with essential amenities.

In this article, I will offer detailed insights and information about the PM Awas Yojana Gramin.

Latest Updates

After assuming office for the third time, Prime Minister Narendra Modi has decided to take a significant step to enhance the dignity and ease of living for millions of our fellow citizens. Prime Minister Narendra Modi shared this information on his Twitter handle.

The government has expanded the Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana (PMAY) by deciding to construct 3 crore new pucca houses in villages and cities. This decision underscores our commitment to improving people's living standards.

It will not only meet the housing needs of the people but also provide them with a quality life. The expansion of PMAY reflects our strong resolve for inclusive development and social welfare.

Check Beneficiary List

To check the Pradhan Mantri Gramin Awas Yojana beneficiary list, follow these steps:

  • Visit the official PMAY-G website at
  • Click on the "Awaassoft" option in the navigation menu.
  • A dropdown menu will appear; select the "Report" option.
PMAY-G (Homepage)
rhReportinng Homepage
  • The MIS Report page will open.
  • Enter the required details, such as state, district, block, and village.
  • Click on the "Submit" button to view / Check the beneficiary list.
Fill details for pmayg list

State-wise Beneficiary List

To check the state-wise Pradhan Mantri Gramin Awas Yojana list for 2024, click on a state link below, select your district, block, and village, enter the captcha, and click the submit button. The housing list for your village will be displayed after that.

Andhra PradeshMaharashtra
Arunachal PradeshManipur
Himachal PradeshTamil Nadu
Jammu and KashmirTelangana
KarnatakaUttar Pradesh
Madhya PradeshWest Bengal

Check Beneficiary Details / Status

To access PMAY-G beneficiary details/ Beneficiary status, follow these steps:

PM Awas Yojana Gramin Stake Holder Option
  • From the dropdown menu, select "IAY/PMAYG beneficiary".
  • Enter your PM Awas registration number and click "Submit".

On this webpage, you will find your status as a beneficiary of the PMAY-G scheme.

PMAY-G Beneficiary Status
If you don't know your registration number, you can use the "Advance Search" option on the same page. Simply fill in the necessary details such as State, Block, Scheme Name, Search by Name, Search by Sanction Order, District, Panchayat, Financial Year, Search by BPL Number, Search by Father/Husband Name, and Account No. Then, click on the "Search" button to proceed.

Registration Process

To avail the benefits of PMAY-G, interested individuals need to follow the application process outlined by the government. The steps involved in the application process are as follows:

  • Gather Required Documents: Collect all necessary documents required for the application process.
  • Visit the Gram Panchayat Office: Go to your local Gram Panchayat office with your documents.
  • Verification by Scheme inspector: A Scheme inspector at the office will verify your details.

Once the verification process is complete, eligible applicants are approved, and financial assistance is sanctioned.

Individual applicants cannot directly apply online for the PM Awas Yojana Gramin through the portal; only authorized scheme inspectors can enter data into the PMAY-G system.

What is Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana-Gramin?

The Government of India's Ministry of Rural Development launched the Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana-Gramin (PMAY-G) as part of its initiative to ensure affordable housing for the rural poor.

With the vision of "Housing for All," this revamped rural housing scheme was officially inaugurated on November 20, 2016, and has been effective since April 1, 2016. It was formerly known as Indira Awas Yojana.

The objective of this initiative is to provide financial assistance and support worth ₹1,20,000 (1 lakh 20 hazar) in plain areas and ₹1,30,000 (1 lakh 30 hazar) in difficult areas (high land area) for construction of houses.

Eligibility Criteria

Eligibility Criteria for Automatic / Compulsory Inclusion in PMAY-G:

  • Households without shelter.
  • Destitute or living on alms.
  • Manual scavengers.
  • Primitive Tribal Groups.
  • Legally released bonded laborers.

Required Documents

For registering under the PM Awas Yojana Gramin (PMAY-G), the following documents are required:

  • Aadhaar Number: Provide your Aadhaar number along with a self-attested copy of the Aadhaar Card. If the applicant is illiterate, a consent letter with the applicant's thumbprint is required.
  • Job Card: A Job Card duly registered with MGNREGA.
  • Bank Account Details: Provide both original and duplicates of bank account details.
  • Swachh Bharat Mission (SBM) Number: If applicable.
  • Affidavit: An affidavit stating that the beneficiaries or their family members do not own a pucca (permanent) house.


  • Financial Assistance:
    • ₹1,20,000 for homes in plain areas.
    • ₹1,30,000 for homes in hilly, difficult areas, and IAP districts like Himalayan states, North-Eastern states, and UTs of Jammu & Kashmir.
  • Institutional Finance:
    • Option to take a loan up to ₹70,000 at a 3% lower interest rate for building a permanent house.
    • Subsidy is available for a principal amount up to ₹2,00,000.
  • House Size: The minimum house size is 25 sq m with a space for hygienic cooking.
  • Toilet Construction: Up to ₹12,000 financial assistance for toilet construction, aligning with Swachh Bharat Mission-Gramin (SBM-G).
  • Employment and Training: Eligible for 95 days of work as unskilled labor at ₹90.95 per day under MGNREGA, including Rural Mason Training.
  • LPG Connection: One LPG connection per house under Pradhan Mantri Ujjwala Yojana.
  • Convergences: Access to piped drinking water, electricity connection, clean cooking fuel, and waste treatment through various government programs.
  • Payments: Electronically made directly to Aadhaar-linked bank or post-office accounts.
Beneficiaries are selected based on criteria from the Socio-Economic and Caste Census (SECC) and verified y the Local Gram Sabhas.

Helpline Numbers

For assistance related to PMAY-G, please contact the helpline below:

ServiceHelpline NumberEmail
PMAY-GToll Free Number: 1800-11-6446support-pmayg[at]gov[dot]in
PFMSToll Free Number: 1800-11-8111helpdesk-pfms[at]gov[dot]in

Frequently Asked Questions

Below, you can find frequently asked questions and their answers.

Read FAQs

What is PM Awas Yojana Gramin (PMAY-G)?

The Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana Gramin (PMAY-G), launched by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, aims to provide affordable pucca houses with basic amenities to the rural poor by 2022, targeting economically weaker sections based on the Socio Economic and Caste Census data.

What is the current status of PM Awas Yojana Gramin?

In the 2024 interim Budget, the Finance Minister unveiled plans for building an additional two crore houses within the next five years under the Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana Gramin (PMAY-G), along with launching a new housing initiative aimed at the middle class.

What is the difference between PMAY Urban and Gramin?

PMAY Urban targets urban poor providing affordable housing in cities, while PMAY Gramin focuses on rural areas, offering pucca houses to the rural poor.

Was this helpful?