PM Awas Eligibility Criteria & Documents

The PM Awas Yojana Gramin (PMAY-G) is a plan to help rural folks in India build their own affordable houses. It gives money to those who need it for a safe place to live, aiming to make sure everyone has a home.

Want to apply for PM Awas Yojana Gramin? Here's a quick guide on who can apply and what documents you need, to help make your application easy.

PM Awas Yojana Gramin Eligibility Criteria

Who Qualifies for PMAY-G?

  • Households without any shelter.
  • People living in extreme poverty or surviving on alms.
  • Individuals working as manual scavengers.
  • Members of Primitive Tribal Groups.
  • Legally freed bonded laborers.

How Are Beneficiaries Prioritized?

  • First Layer of Priority: Based on housing needs, with specific focus on SC/ST, Minorities, and Others.
  • Order of Priority: Starts with those who are houseless, followed by those living in one-room, then two-room houses with kutcha walls and roofs.
  • Within Each Social Category: Households with fewer rooms or no home at all are given precedence over those with more rooms.

Special Consideration for Compulsory Inclusion:

  • Households that meet certain criteria are automatically given higher priority within their priority group. These include:
    • Households with no adult members between ages 16 to 59.
    • Female-headed households with no adult male between ages 16 to 59.
    • Households without any literate adults over 25.
    • Families with any disabled member and no able-bodied adult.
    • Landless households deriving a major part of their income from manual casual labor.

Earmarking of Targets:

  • For SC/ST: 60% of the targets for each state or UT are reserved for SC/STs, with the proportion of SC to ST flexible and determined by the states/UTs based on eligibility.
  • For Minorities: Around 15% of the total funds are earmarked for Minorities at the national level, with state/UT allocations based on the rural population of Minorities as per the latest census.
  • For Persons with Disabilities (PwDs): There's an effort to ensure that 3% of beneficiaries are PwDs, in line with the Persons with Disabilities Act of 1995.

Tie-Breaking Criteria:
If there's a tie within a subgroup, priority is given based on:

  • Households with widows or next-of-kin of defense/paramilitary/police forces killed in action.
  • Families with members suffering from leprosy, cancer, or living with HIV (PLHIV).
  • Households with a single girl child.
  • Beneficiary families under the Forest Rights Act, 2006.

Verification Process:

The eligibility and prioritization of households are verified by the Gram Sabhas using the Socio-Economic and Caste Census (SECC) data. This ensures that the assistance is targeted at those genuinely in need, making the selection process objective and verifiable.

Necessary Documents

To apply for PM Awas Yojana Gramin, ensure you have these documents ready:

  • Aadhaar Card: Your number and a self-attested copy. If illiterate, a consent letter with your thumbprint.
  • MGNREGA Job Card: Confirm it's registered.
  • Bank Details: Originals and copies of your account information.
  • SBM Number: If you're part of the Swachh Bharat Mission.
  • Affidavit: Stating you or your family don't own a permanent house.

These documents are essential for your PMAY-G application.

Benefits Under PMAY (G)

Region TypeFinancial Assistance
Plain areas₹1,20,000
Hilly, difficult areas, and IAP districts (e.g., Himalayan states, North-Eastern states, UTs of Jammu & Kashmir)₹1,30,000

Was this helpful?